Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Through Waters Deep by Sarah Sundin

Through Waters Deep by Sarah Sundin
Sarah’s been a favorite of mine for a long time, since her first book. I’m thrilled she’s begun this new three-book series!

Let’s begin with the summary:

War is coming. Can love carry them through the rough waters that lie ahead?

It is 1941 and America teeters on the brink of war. Handsome and outgoing naval officer Ensign Jim Avery escorts British convoys across the North Atlantic in a brand-new destroyer, the
USS Atwood. On shore, Jim encounters Mary Stirling, a childhood friend who is now an astute and beautiful Boston Navy Yard secretary.

When evidence of sabotage on the
Atwood is discovered, Jim and Mary must work together to uncover the culprit. A bewildering maze of suspects emerges, and Mary is dismayed to find that even someone close to her is under suspicion. With the increasing pressure, Jim and Mary find that many new challenges—and dangers—await them.

And now, my review:

Whenever I pick up one of Sarah’s books, I know I’ll get tons of historical facts thrown in. These become talking points for conversations with others. Her books are well-researched, which I respect and appreciate.

I also know I’ll get a good romance when I read her novels. With a cover like that, you know we will. (You can see the behind-the-scenes cover creation video here.)

This story is a mystery, with the heroine acting as a sleuth who counts on invisibility to take shorthand notes and gather clues for the FBI. Because the first few chapters were chock-full of characters, I got a little lost in the opening pages. And it took me a little while to get into this book. But it was worth it.

One of the themes was a misunderstanding of pride. Mary, our heroine, is conscientious, modest, and humble—only she doesn’t see herself this way and fear holds her back.

That same theme is mirrored in the hero’s life. Jim has let fear of failure cause him to coast along in life. But he’s called to leadership, to making tough decisions. Like the heroine, whom God has called to the spotlight, the hero will have to change in order to follow God’s path.

I kept watching for WWII-era elements as I recall them from history, which made the reading even more interesting and engaging. And I liked that we were on a naval ship in this book. Perhaps we will be in the next two because the series is called “Waves of Freedom.” Can’t wait to read the story of Jim Avery’s brothers in books two and three.