Thursday, June 4, 2009

The Inheritance by Tamera Alexander

My first experience reading Tamera Alexander's work was her fantastic Fountain Creek Chronicles series: Rekindled, Revealed, Remembered. If you haven’t read that series, pick it up. It’s delicious historical romance. I especially enjoyed Rekindled.

Now, onto today’s featured book: The Inheritance.

What’s it about:

An unexpected inheritance. An unknown future. An unending love.

Determined to tame her younger brother's rebellious streak, McKenna Ashford accepts her cousin's invitation to move west and to begin again. But she quickly discovers that life in Copper Creek, Colorado is far from what she expected. Shouldering burdens beyond her years, McKenna tries to be the parent Robert needs, instead of the older sister he resents. But an "untimely inheritance" challenges her resolve at every turn, while also offering a second chance to restore her trust--and perhaps even her heart. U.S. Marshal Wyatt Caradon is dedicated to bringing fugitives to justice, yet years of living on the trail have taken their toll.

When his path intersects with that of McKenna, he comes face-to-face with a past he never wanted to relive--and the one woman who can help him find the future he's been longing for.
As McKenna struggles to let go of her independence and Wyatt considers opening his heart again, they discover an inheritance beyond imagination. But it will come at a price.

Tell me about Tamera:

Tamera Alexander is the best-selling author of Rekindled, Revealed and Remembered, the critically acclaimed Fountain Creek Chronicles historical series with Bethany House Publishers. Tamera's deeply drawn characters, thought-provoking plots, and poignant prose have earned her devoted readers—and multiple industry awards.

These awards include the 2008 Christy Award for Best Romance, the 2007 RITA® for Best Inspirational Romance, the 2007 Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, 2007 Bookseller’s Best Award, and Library Journal’s Top Christian Fiction for 2006, among others.

Released in February 2009, Tamera's The Inheritance, the first historical for the WOMEN OF FAITH fiction line (Thomas Nelson), debuted on CBA's Bestseller list (Christian Booksellers Association). The Inheritance, a standalone novel, is set in Colorado 1877 and is about a young woman's struggle to let go of her independence while she also discovers an inheritance beyond her imagining. Read an excerpt from The Inheritance here. (borrowed from her website's bio page:

And now my review:

Tamera’s cast of characters includes a strong heroine, a gentle but powerful hero, a rebellious brother, a dear niece, a kind doctor and a Chinese couple. Tamera effortlessly weaves an interesting ensemble cast into her well-written historical fiction.

One of McKenna’s weaknesses is loving without setting limits. She’s raised her brother from his infancy, but he has chosen rebellion. Now, as a young man, he’s a formidable opponent. Enter Marshal Wyatt Caradon. He has some wisdom to dole out and some boundaries to enforce. Readers will understand both sides, I think.

Brokenness is Tamera’s theme in The Inheritance. She brings her characters directly to that place—McKenna almost loses everything. Again. Robert (her rebellious brother) has to face his failures. Wyatt lives in a state of brokenness as he overcomes a deep loss. I appreciated Tamera’s reference to dependence upon God and how brokenness brings sweetness to our relationship with Him.

She has written a beautiful historical novel I believe readers will love.

1 comment:

  1. This is a wonderful book! I love all of Tamera's books. I can't wait to read "Beyond This Moment" (bk 2 in her Timber Ridge Reflections series).